February 19, 2011
Big Sky Documentary Film Festival winners announced

Short Film News (SFN)- The judges of the 8th annual Big Sky Documentary Film Festival have announced this year's award winning films.

The judges of Big Sky have announced award winning films in the four competitive
categories: Best Feature, Big Sky Award, Best Short Film and Best Mini Doc (under 15 minutes).

The awards were announced Thursday evening at a ceremony at The Loft in downtown Missoula. The Feature Category winner will receive $1000, while the films in the other three categories will receive a cash prize of $500, courtesy of The Documentary Channel.

The Best Feature prize was awarded to Thomas Burstyn's THIS WAY OF LIFE.

Michael Lumpkin and Chuck Workman awarded the Short Film prize to Goro Toshimas BROKEN DOORS.

Jurors Paco de Onis and Pamela Yates awarded the Mini Doc prize to Kevin Gordon and Rebekah Meredith's, DREAMS AWAKE.

This year's jury included Andrew Catauro of POV, Michael Lumpkin of the International Documentary Association, Ian McCluskey from NW Documentary, Kate Pearson of the Documentary Channel, Tracy Rector of Longhouse Media, Oscar winning filmmaker Chuck Workman and Paco de Onis & Pamela Yates of Skylight Pictures, the makers of GRANITO.

The complete schedule is posted at:


© Copyright 2004 - 2019, All rights reserved.